Digital Divide/Digital Inequality

As an assignment I was given the task to research the digital divide and digital inequalities. We were then asked to find an issue that related to the digital divide and present on this issue. Below you will find my reflection on this assignment and a link to the presentation.

What did you learn about multimedia principles in creating this artifact?

While creating this presentation I learned that it’s important to only include the most important information on a page otherwise it might be distracting to an audience. In addition to only including important information, it’s also important to organize the information in a way that makes it easier to understand and see.

What did you learn about digital divide and/or digital inequality that was new to you?

The digital divide is something that goes beyond access, use, or even quality. Those who are digitally inclined think about life differently. We see the world through our language and to me technology is its own culture and language. Before my research I didn’t understand how much the divide impacts people. I look at myself and those whom I work with and the divide separates us in more ways that I can understand.

What do you plan to do with this knowledge in the future?

This knowledge will make me more sensitive with those I work with. I will be able to approach issues or ideas in a different way. Now that I understand the divide more I will hopefully be able to support in bridging the gap.

How might you change/improve this artifact if you had more time?

I chose to highlight issues regarding students. If I had more time I would like to research how the divide effects teacher to teacher relationships. This project has really made me stop and think about the differences and recognize that there is no RIGHT way of doing things.

Click Here to Access my Digital Divide Presentation

One thought on “Digital Divide/Digital Inequality

  1. Jeanie, Good job! As a math teacher, it was interesting to hear the issues your school has with IXL. I have used it as a supplement but it was not required and only served to provide extra practice. I did notice on the second slide that you have a t that continued to the next line. I think I would adjust my slide so that it was all on one line. Overall, great presentation!

    Like

Leave a comment